BEAUTY is ONLY Skin Deep. :)

There are times when ideas [in my head] just flow like a river. However, there also times when I can’t seem to squeeze even a single word out of my brain. So whenever ideas came rushing in, I stop whatever I’m doing, grab a paper and a pen and write every thing that crosses my mind.

And just this afternoon, I realized I wasn’t the only one experiencing this kind of dilemma. Yup, I’m not alone. There’s Bob Ong – one of my favorite authors. šŸ™‚

“Hindi para sa tamad ang pagsusulat. Pag binisita ka ng idea, gana, o inspirasyon, kailangan mong itigil LAHAT ng ginagawa mo para lang di masayang ang pagkakataon. Walang “sandali lang” o “teka muna.” Dahil pag lumagpas ang maikling panahong yon, kahit mag-umpog ka ng ulo sa pader mahihirapan ka nang maghabol.” -Bob Ong, Stainless Longganisa

________________________________________________________________________

Anyway. Why I made that as my introduction? Wala lang. Trip. Hah! Hah! šŸ™‚

Kidding aside, a realization came to [my] mind. Yup, it’s in the title of this post, “Beauty is ONLY Skin Deep.”

Actually, I don’t really know why this thing crossed my mind. But I thought, maybe I should share to you, guys, a piece of my mind. Who knows, someone might actually get something out of my not-so-nonsense posts, including this. šŸ™‚

Beauty is only skin deep.” We all know it’s an idiomatic expression and here are its meanings as I have found on the internet. šŸ™‚

“It means beauty is beyond skin, it’s in the soul.”

“The outward appearance of a person counts for nothing, but it is what lies beneath the skin, the actual person him/herself is what really matters.”

“Physical beauty is superficial and is not as important as a person’s intellectual, emotional, and spiritual qualities.”

“Beauty is superficial, and so is the one who measures a person’s worth by it.”

When I was younger, I had this so-called “Inferiority Complex.” I had this bad habit of comparing myself to others and they always emerge victorious. I always envy those girls I see in magazines – why, they just seem so perfect!

I was painfully shy because I was afraid of committing mistakes. I was scared of saying something stupid and be laughed at.

I remember having turned down so many opportunities to perform on stage because I had a huge stage fright. I knew I had the talent for singing – but that’s just it. I never had the courage to step out of the shadows and shine. I never had that confidence in myself. I didn’t think I was beautiful enough, or I was good enough. I never believed I was capable of doing things in front of a huge crowd. I always thought someone is better than me – that he/she can perform better than I do.

But as time passed by, I realized that staying ALWAYS in your comfort zone won’t take you anywhere. Yes, it’s nice to be in your comfort zone. No hassles. However, it can also be utterly boring. You’re just there – doing nothing and certainly learning NOTHING. That if you want to be SOMEBODY, you really have to do SOMETHING. šŸ™‚

Furthermore, I learned that BEAUTY comes from within and not from without. Our standards, basis and judgment for beauty should not be guaged from our complexion, height, hair, or body structure. Physical beauty is only superficial – It fades through time. True beauty should come from within – how we treat other people, how we carry ourselves, our intellect and most especially, our ATTITUDES.

And so I started exploring my horizons – I joined organizations, seminars and workshops, contests and anything that I know that can improve my personality. At last I wasn’t afraid of CHANGE. I throwed all my INSECURITIES and INHIBITIONS. I became open to possibilities and improvements. And so far, I am happy with the results. Yup, it wasn’t easy but here’s the truth: It was WORTH it. šŸ™‚

_________________________________________________________________________

Just today, we finished our Personality Development Seminar-Workshop facilitated by the Diaz Speech and Personality Development Academy. At first I thought it would be a boring two-day seminar with equally boring sessions and talks. But I was wrong – completely wrong.

“Times seems to fly so fast when you’re enjoying.”

That is what we felt during our seminar-workshop. We had so much FUN. šŸ™‚ Kuddos to Mrs. Diaz! šŸ™‚

During the seminar, I learned so many things. I learned that CONFIDENCE is everything. That in everything that you do, you have to believe in yourself that you can do it. I learned that in order to be beautiful, you HAVE to FEEL beautiful first.

1_618247391l-300x225

Ā 

BEAUTY??? Oh what the heck! Stop treating yourself like you have to meet the standards of people who judge beauty through good looks – looks that actually fades. So what happens when you reach 30 and wrinkles start to show? What happens when fats start to build up in your tummy? Does that mean you’re not beautiful anymore?

See what I mean? šŸ™‚

Remember: BEAUTY is only skin deep.

šŸ™‚

Leave a comment